Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Advocacy & Health Policy

Are You Compliant with New Opioid Laws?

Tuesday, October 9, 2018  
Share |

Effective June 1, 2018, all licensed prescribers in Michigan must be registered with MAPS before prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance to a patient; are required to query the Michigan Automated Prescription System (MAPS) when prescribing controlled substances to any patient; are required obtain the patient's informed consent on the form prescribed by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services; and, before issuing an initial prescription for an opioid in a single course of treatment to a minor, are required to discuss an extended list of information with the minor and the minor’s parent or guardian and must document the informed consent on a "Start Talking Consent Form."

Effective July 1, 2018, if a licensed prescriber is treating a patient for acute pain, the prescriber shall not prescribe the patient more than a 7-day supply of an opioid within a 7-day period.

Effective March 31, 2019, a licensed prescriber shall not prescribe a controlled substance listed in schedules 2 to 5 unless the prescriber is in a “bona fide prescriber-patient relationship.” 

Visit MSMS' BeAware resource page for more information and helpful links.